Tomb Kings choosing a theme: The Rise of Phoenicia

So at the end of my last Tomb King post I said I was going to go off and research armies that had used war beasts in the past. My first Wikipedia search was, of course, for Hannibal.

For those of you who don’t know Hannibal was a general from Carthage whose most famous victory came when he marched an army including war elephants over the alps and invaded the Roman empire. Perfect for my army I hear you say?

Well it gets better than that. Carthage was part of the Phoenicia empire who were great sea farers and controlled most of North Africa and the Southern Mediterranean. So I’ve got an ancient civilisation who fought with war beasts and who have left behind a wealth of history for me to use as a source.

To begin with a quick google search has given me an alphabet

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

to use when adorning banners etc and some examples of their art

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

for inspiration.

So for now my first inspiration is to use undead pegasus as Carrion, I see some conversions coming on here.

I’m also fortunate to currently be holidaying in the part of Spain that used to be Carthage so I’ve been able to get some ideas for the basing of my army. Currently I’m thinking of going with this type of stone colour.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

This will be painted onto block paving bases.

So it’s all starting to come together. I need to flesh everything out and get a couple of test models painted up but I think I’m getting there and I’m feeling inspired.

So what do you think to the idea?

Take care

The Filth and The Fluff

This entry was posted in Tomb Kings, Warhammer Fantasy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment